Australia wins Cricket World Cup for the fifth time

Australia-wins-Cricket-World-Cup-for-the-fifth-timeAustralian cricket team won the cricket world cup title for the fifth time. Australia overwhelmed New Zealand to win the World Cup for a fifth time in front of record crowd of 93,013 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Mitchell Starc is named as “Man of Series”. The 25-year-old left-armer took 22 wickets at 10.18 runs per wicket with an economy rate of 3.50 runs per over. His best performance came against New Zealand in Auckland when he finished with six for 28.

New Zealand lost influential captain Brendon McCullum to the fifth ball of the match and were bowled out for 183.

Grant Elliott resisted with 83, while Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Johnson and James Faulkner shared eight wickets.

Australia rarely looked troubled, sealing a seven-wicket win in 33.1 overs, with captain Michael Clarke scoring 74 and Steve Smith 56 not out.

Clarke, in his final one-day international, was given a standing ovation by the record 93,000 crowd and welcomed by his team-mates on the boundary when he was bowled by Matt Henry with eight required.

He was part of the Australia team that last lifted the trophy in 2007, with this success extending their record for most World Cups won. No other team has more than two.

Australia’s win was the second in as many tournaments by a host nation after India’s triumph four years ago.

Australia becomes the first team to win a cricket world cup in every continent. Australia has won the world cup 5 times – most by any team in the world. India & West Indies has won the cricket world cup two times, Pakistan & Sri Lanka one time.

Share This Post

Expert advise guide for exam preparation
Like the Post? Subscribe to Eduncle Blog

Even if you don't visit on a regular basis, you can get the latest posts and updates delivered to you for free via Email.

9    +   6   =