India to host ICC Twenty20 Cricket World Cup 2016

ICC T-20 Cricket World Cup 2016 INDIAThe ICC awarded India to host the 2016 Twenty20 World Cup after a meeting in Dubai on Wednesday. This was decided in the meeting in which the schedule for the ICC events for the next four years were decided.

The T20 World Cup 2016 will be held from March 11 to April 3.

West Indies will host the women’s T20 World Cup in 2018.

Other nations which will host ICC events are England, Bangladesh, New Zealand and West Indies.

England will host 2019 ODI World Cup, Champions Trophy (June 1-19) and Women’s World Cup (August 4-27) in 2017.

New Zealand were awarded the U-19 World Cup 2018 while Bangladesh will host U-19 World Cup 2016 and World Cup qualifiers 2018.

The meeting was chaired by N Srinivasan in the presence of all the full-member and associate representatives.
Besides this, the ICC board took some major decisions. These include –

-> Use of a Super Over in the event of a tie in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 final.

-> Approved changes in ICC Code of Conduct offences relating to slow over-rates in ICC events so that captains do not carry any prior minor over-rate offence strikes or over-rate suspensions from other series into an ICC event.

-> Any over-rate strikes incurred prior to the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 will be carried forward to the first bilateral series after the event.

Share This Post

Expert advise guide for exam preparation
Like the Post? Subscribe to Eduncle Blog

Even if you don't visit on a regular basis, you can get the latest posts and updates delivered to you for free via Email.

5    +   2   =