List of National Sports Awards for 2015

National-Sports-Awards-2015Every year, Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Government of India announces some very special awards in sports category to motivate the sportspersons in their respected disciplines. These awards are presented as an honor to praise their outstanding performances in the field of sports.

The awards can be given to any person who is giving their contribution in sports, whether he/she is a coach or player or organizer.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2015

The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna (RGKR) is an Indian honor which is presented to sports persons or sports teams for their achievements in any discipline of sports. The award is given by Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Government of India.

This is named after late Mr. Rajiv Gandhi, former Prime Minister of India.

Here are some facts which you may be unaware of about Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

The award was instituted in the year 1991–92 to supply the lack of a supreme national accolade in the field of sports.

Prize Money – INR 7, 50,000/- (Previously, it was INR 5, 00,000/-).

Every year it is given only to one person who has performed very well amongst all the sports persons of any discipline.

2015 Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardee – Sania Mirza.

Arjuna Awards

The Arjuna Awards are given to those sports persons who have proved their mettle in Sports Disciplines. The award is presented by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Government of India.

Facts about Arjuna Awards

The honor for sportspersons, named as Arjuna Award was Instituted in 1961.

Prizes – Cash Prize of INR 5,00,000/-, a bronze statuette of Arjuna and a scroll.

Eligibility to receive the award – A sportsperson should not only have had good performance consistently for the previous three years at the international level with excellence for the year for which the Award is recommended, but should also have shown qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline.

Awardess of Arjuna Award in 2015

S.No. Awardees Names Sports Discipline
1. Naib Subedar Sandeep Kumar Archery
2. Ms. M.R. Poovamma Athletics
3. Mr. Kidambi Srikanth Nammalwar Badminton
4. Mr. Mandeep Jangra Boxing
5. Mr. Rohit Sharma Cricket
6. Ms. Dipa Karmakar Gymnastic
7. Mr. Sreejesh P.R. Hockey
8. Mr. Manjeet Chhillar Kabaddi
9. Ms. Abhilasha Shashikant Mhatre Kabaddi
10. Mr. Sawarn Singh Rowing
11. Mr. Anup Kumar Yama Roller Skating
12. Mr. Jitu Rai Shooting
13. Shri S. Sathish Kumar Weightlifting
14. Mr. Bajrang Wrestling
15. Ms. Babita Kumari Wrestling
16. Ms. Yumnam Sanathoi Devi Wushu
17. Mr. Sharath M. Gayakwad Para-Swimming

Dronacharya Award 2015

Dronacharya Award is given usually to those persons who perform really well as a coach in any sports.

Dronacharya Award was instituted (in 1985) after when Arjuna Award came into existence. The Great archer Arjuna was the disciple of Dronacharya. To give respect to the great efforts a coach lays towards his team or a single sportsperson is the motive why this award came into existence.

Prize Money – INR 5,00,000/-

First foreign coach to be awarded Dronacharya Award – Fernandez.

Below is the list of all the Awardees of Dronacharya Award in 2015-

S.No. Awardees Names Sports Discipline
1. Naval Singh Athletics
2. Anoop Singh Wrestling
3. Harbans Singh Athletics – Lifetime
4. Swatantar Raj Singh Boxing
5. Nihar Ameen Swimming

Dhyanchand Award 2015

Dhyanchand Award is India’s highest award for lifetime achievement in sports. The award is named after the legendary Indian hockey player Dhyan Chand. The award was initiated in 2002.

Cash Prize – INR 500,000/- a plaque and a scroll of honor.

Below, you can check the list of 2015 Awardees-

S.No. Awardees Names Sports Discipline
1. Romeo James Hockey
2. Shiv Prakash Mishra Tennis
3. T.P.P. Nair Volleyball



Share This Post

Expert advise guide for exam preparation
Like the Post? Subscribe to Eduncle Blog

Even if you don't visit on a regular basis, you can get the latest posts and updates delivered to you for free via Email.

9    +   2   =  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

9   +   2   = 

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>