Eduncle posted an Article
February 22, 2019 • 11:44 am

List of Nobel Prize Winners & Laureates from India




Nobel Prize has been honoring people all over the globe for their outstanding performances and excellence in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature, and for work in peace. The man behind Nobel Prize concept is Alfred Nobel. He was a chemist, engineer, and inventor. Nobel Prize is set of annual international awards given in a number of categories by Swedish and Norwegian committees.


The below article have some legends who received Nobel Prize for their tremendous work. It will be useful for candidates who are preparing for IBPS PO, IBPS Clerk & SSC Exams for their General Awareness section.




IBPS PO Qualification is no far now! Take advantage of free learning material and boost up your preparation.Download Here!




Rabindranath Tagore Rabindranath Tagore (DOB-DOD: 1861-1941) Nobel Prize Year: 1913 Field or Subject: Literature He was awarded Nobel Prize for Literature in 1913 for his “Geetanjali” a collection of his poems. He was the first person to be awarded the Nobel Prize for India. Tagore was a creative composer with 2,230 songs to his credit. His drawing and painting skills sparkled all over the world. Tagore wrote novels, essays, short stories, travelogues, dramas.





Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman (DOB-DOD: 1888-1970) Nobel Prize for physics in Year: 1930 Field or Subject: Science He was the first Asian scientist to win the Nobel Prize. He made massive contributions to vibration, sound, musical instruments, ultrasonic, diffraction, photo electricity, colloidal particles, X-ray diffraction, magnetron, dielectrics and the Raman Effect for which he was able to draw Noble Prize in 1930. He worked on the scattering of light.





Mother Teresa Mother Teresa (DOB-DOD: 1910-1997) Nobel Peace Prize Year: 1979 Field or Subject: Peace Mother Teresa was awarded Nobel Peace Prize because she dedicated her life to the sick and hungry people. Her simple message was "the poor must know that we love them." More than 2 million sick people were treated by mobile dispensaries and clinics by her.  At the age of eighteen she left her parental home in Skopje and joined the Sisters of Loreto, an Irish community of nuns with missions in India.





Kailash Satyarthi Kailash Satyarthi (DOB: 1952) Nobel Prize Year: 2014 Field or subject: Peace He is an Indian children's rights and education advocate and an activist against child labor. He protected the rights of more than 83,000 children from 144 countries. He is the second one to receive this Nobel Peace Prize after Mother Teresa. He is now reportedly working on bringing child labor and slavery into the post-2015 development agenda for the United Nation's Millennium Development Goals.





Amartya-Kumar-Sen Amartya Kumar Sen (DOB: 1933)   Nobel Prize Year: 1998 Field or subject: Economics Amartya Kumar Sen won Nobel Prize for being a brilliant economist and powerful philosopher of Bengali ethnicity. He have researched on fundamental problems in welfare economics and Studies of social choice, welfare a measurement and poverty.







Venkatraman-Ramakrishnan Venkatraman Ramakrishnan (DOB: 1952)

Nobel Prize Year: 2009 Field or Subject: Chemistry He is an Indian-born American and British structural biologist He was awarded for studies of the structure and function of the ribosome and giving new vision to the molecular science. He is recognized for determination of the atomic structure of the 30S ribosomal subunit.






Har-Gobind-Khorana Har Gobind Khorana (DOB-DOD: 1922-2011) Nobel Prize Year: 1968 Field or Subject: Physiology He was an Indian-American biochemist. He was born in India but after 1945 shifted to England. He was awarded for Interpretation of the genetic code and its function in protein synthesis.








Subrahmanyan-Chandrasekhar Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar (DOB-DOD: 1910-1995) Nobel Prize Year: 1983 Field or Subject: Physics He was born in India but shifted to the United States later. He was awarded Nobel Prize for his mathematical theory of the physical processes of importance to the structure and evolution of the stars. He has worked in various areas, including stellar structure, theory of white dwarfs, stellar dynamics, theory of radiative transfer, quantum theory of the hydrogen anion, hydrodynamic and hydro-magnetic stability, equilibrium and the stability of ellipsoidal figures of equilibrium, general relativity, mathematical theory of black holes and theory of colliding gravitational waves.






Sir-Vidiadhar-Surajprasad-Naipaul Sir Vidiadhar Surajprasad Naipaul (DOB: 1932) Nobel Prize Year: 2001 Field or subjects: Literature

He is a writer known for his comic early novels. He has published more than 30 books, both of fiction and nonfiction, over some 50 years. ”A House for Mr. Biswas” is one of the very famous novels.









Muhammad-Yunus Muhammad Yunus (DOB: 1940) Nobel Prize Year: 2006 Field or subjects: Peace He is a Bangladeshi social entrepreneur, banker, economist and civil society leader who was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for founding the Gramin Bank and pioneering the concepts of microcredit and microfinance.






IBPS PO Qualification is no far now! Take advantage of free learning material and boost up your preparation.Download Here!



If you are preparing for IBPS PO, IBPS Clerk & SSC exams you can enhance your knowledge for the various section and get details about the exams. For more interesting blogs and facts you can stay tuned at Eduncle via Facebook and YouTube!!



You can also visit:


 Indian National Symbols  Famous Mascots of Indian Popular Brands  Amazing Facts from Our Daily Lives Indian Banking and Financial system 


Image Courtesy: Google Images



Head Office :
MPA 44, 2nd floor, Rangbari Main Road,
Mahaveer Nagar II, Kota (Raj.) – 324005

Corporate Office:
212, F-1, 2nd Floor, Evershine Tower,
Amrapali Marg,
Vaishali Nagar, Jaipur (Raj.) – 302021

All Rights Reserved ©