List of National Sports Awards 2017, Check out the Winners!

List of National Sports Awards and Winners 2017


Awards have always been the best way to encourage champions. National Sports Awards are one of the most awaited awards for the ‘Indian athletes’. National Sports Awards are given to candidates who have performed exceptionally well in their respective sports field.


These awards include Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, Dronacharya Award, Arjuna Award, Dhyan Chand Award, Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar.


National Sports Awards are given to any sportsperson who has contributed in any field of sport. Be it the player, coach or organizer of any sport.


Selection Committee for National Sports Awards 


After a long discussion about the nominations, Selection Committees consisting of former Olympians, Arjuna Awardees, Dronacharya Awardees, Dhyan Chand Awardees, Sports Journalists/ Experts /Commentators and sports administrators decided the awardees for National Sports Winners 2017.


Selection Committee for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Awards was headed by Justice C.K. Thakkar (Former Judge Supreme Court of India, Chief Justice of High Court of Himachal and Bombay).


Selection Committee for Dronacharya Awards and Dhyan Chand Awards was headed by Shri Pullela Gopichand.


Selection Committee for Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar was headed by Rahul Bhatnagar, Secretary (Sports).


Below the article you can get the complete list of National Sports Winners 2017.



Get yourself prepared for IBPS exam. Download free Mock Test Papers and Study Material.



Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna 2017

This award is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four years in international sports.



Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2017



Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and a cash prize of INR 7.5 lakh each.



S.No. Name of the Awardee Discipline
1. Shri Sardar Singh Hockey
2. Shri Devendra Para – Athletics



Dronacharya Awards 2017

This award is given to coaches for giving the mastery skills to the students and let them succeed in their field.

This award is for coaches for producing medals in international sports championship.



Dronacharya Award 2017 Winners



Dronacharya awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and a cash prize of INR 5 lakh each.


Here is the list of awardees of Dronacharya award 2017.



S.No. Name of the Awardee Discipline
1 Late Dr R. Gandhi Athletics
2 Shri Heera Nand Kataria* Kabaddi
3. Shri G.S.S.V. Prasad Badminton (Lifetime)
4. Shri Brij Bhushan Mohanty Boxing (Lifetime)
5. Shri P.A. Raphel Hockey (Lifetime)
6. Shri Sanjoy Chakraverthy Shooting (Lifetime)
7. Shri Roshan Lal Wrestling (Lifetime)


 *NOTE – The name of Heera Nand Kataria has been withdrawn from the list of  Dronacharya Award Winners by the Sports Ministry. Get the complete news here



Arjuna Award 2017

This Award is the second highest award in sports among Indian nationals.



Arjuna Award 2017



This award is given to the sportsperson for consistently outstanding performance for four years.



S.No. Name of the Awardee Discipline
1. Ms V.J.  Surekha Archery
2. Ms Khushbir Kaur Athletics
3. Shri Arokia Rajiv Athletics
4. Ms Prasanthi Singh Basketball
5. Shri Laishram Debendro Singh Boxing
6. Shri Cheteshwar Pujara Cricket
7. Ms Harmanpreet Kaur Cricket
8. Ms Oinam Bembem Devi Football
9. Shri S.S.P. Chawrasia Golf
10. Shri S.V. Sunil Hockey
11. Shri P.N. Prakash Shooting
12. Shri Jasvir Singh Kabaddi
13. Shri A. Amalraj Table Tennis
14. Shri Saketh Myneni Tennis
15. Shri Satyawart Kadian Wrestling
16. Shri Mariyappan Para-Athlete
17. Shri Varun Singh Bhati Para-Athlete



Dhyan Chand Award 2017

This award is given to the sportsman who has dedicated his entire life to the development of any sport.



Dhyan Chand Award 2017



Dhyan Chand Awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and a cash prize of INR 5 lakh.



S. No. Name of the Awardee Discipline
1 Shri Bhupender Singh Athletics
2 Shri Syed Shahid Hakim Football
3 Shri Sumarai Tete Hockey



Rashtriya Khel Protsahana Purushkar, 2017

This award is given to the person or the organization who is spotted in the development of sports.



Rashtriya Khel Protsahana Purushkar 2017



This award is given to a sportsperson or an organization who has played a vital role in promoting any sport. That organization can be from the private sector or public sector.

 Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Purushkar awardees will be awarded by Trophies and Certificates.



S. No. Category Entity recommended for Rashtriya Khel ProtsahanPuruskar, 2017
1. Identification and Nurturing of Budding and Young Talent Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan (KVS)
2. Encouragement to sports through corporate social responsibility Odisha Industrial Infrastructure Development Corporation (IDCO)
3. Sports for Development The Golf Foundation
4. Sports for Development Reliance Foundation



These awards are many times asked in IBPS PO, IBPS Clerk, IBPS RRB and IBPS SO, computer-based exams. These awards are also asked in SSC CGL and SSC CHSL Exams.



Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Award (MAKA) Trophy 2017

This trophy is given to the university who has performed extremely good in inter-university tournaments. This award was not given to any university for the year 2017.



Mualana Abul Kalam Azad Award (MAKA) Trophy 2016



The winner will get the trophy from the President of India at a specially organized function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan.

Winner for the year 2016: Punjabi University (Patiala)


You can get more interesting stuff related to your IBPS and SSC exam preparation.



Get yourself prepared for SSC exam. Download free Mock Test Papers and Study Material.



If you like the information, then share it.

You can also visit our social media channels Youtube and Facebook.

You can comment below your suggestions and queries. We will be glad to solve them as soon as possible.


Share This Post

Expert advise guide for exam preparation
Like the Post? Subscribe to Eduncle Blog

Even if you don't visit on a regular basis, you can get the latest posts and updates delivered to you for free via Email.

3    +   7   =  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

3   +   7   = 

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>