Modi Cabinet: Complete List of Present Ministers [Updated]

Modi Cabinet Present Ministers



Dear Readers 



The much awaited Cabinet reshuffle by Prime Minister Narendra Modi has finally took place. After a long assessment some important changes has been made by PM Modi in his cabinet.


The changes includes introduction of 19 new ministers, dropping of 5 ministers and some promotions. Here, we are notifying the major changes made by PM Modi according to his assessment.




Download Here !! Daily, Weekly and Monthly Current Affairs !!



Major Changes in Modi Cabinet


Smriti Irani

Smriti Irani was ruled out of the high-profile Human Resource Development Ministry (HRD Ministry). She was given the charge of the Textile Ministry.


As she has been removed from the position of HRD Minister, it was said to be the biggest lose for her after the reshuffle.


Prakash JavdekarPrakash Javdekar has been changed from his position as Environment Minister to Human Resource Development (HRD) Minister.


The Environment Ministry has been charged to Anil Dave.


Piyush GoyalThe four important portfolios – Coal, Power, Mining and Renewable Energy has been given to Piyush Goyal.

This resulted in his emergence as the biggest gainer in the Cabinet reshuffle.


Given below are the present portfolios of the Union Council of Ministers after the changes made in the Modi Cabinet: –




Cabinet Ministers of India



Cabinet Ministers Portfolios
Narendra Modi Prime MinisterPersonnel, Public Grievances and Pensions,

Department of Atomic Energy Department of Space,

All important policy issues and all other portfolios not allocated to any Minister.

Rajnath Singh Home Affairs
Sushma Swaraj External Affairs
Arun Jaitley Finance and Corporate Affairs
M. Venkaiah Naidu Information & Broadcasting, Urban Development, Housing & Urban,

Poverty Alleviation

Nitin Jairam Gadkari Road Transport and Highways, Shipping
Manohar Parrikar Defence
Suresh Prabhu Railways
D. V. Sadananda Gowda Statistics & Programme Implementation
Uma Bharti Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation
Dr. Nazma A. Heptulla Minority Affairs
Ramvilas Paswan Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution
Kalraj Mishra Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises
Maneka Sanjay Gandhi Women & Child Development
Ananthkumar Parliamentary Affairs, Chemicals & Fertilisers
Ravi Shankar Prasad Law & Justice, Electronics & Information Technology
Jagat Prakash Nadda Health & Family Welfare
Ashok Gajapathi Raju Pusapati Civil Aviation
Anant Geete Heavy Industries & Public Enterprises
Harsimrat Kaur Badal Food Processing Industries
Narendra Singh Tomar Rural Development, Panchayati Raj,

Drinking Water & Sanitation

Choudhary Birendra Singh Steel
Jual Oram Tribal Affairs
Radha Mohan Singh Agriculture & Farmers Welfare
Thaawar Chand Gehlot Social Justice and Empowerment
Smriti Zubin Irani Textiles
Dr. Harsh Vardhan Science & Technology, Earth Sciences
Prakash Javdekar Human Resource Development




Going to appear for SSC CGL Tier 1 Exam? Know the complete Details of SSC CGL 2016 Exam



Ministers of States of India



Ministers of State Portfolios
General (Retd) V. K. Singh Development of North Eastern Region (Independent Charge),External Affairs,

Overseas Indian Affairs

Rao Inderjit Singh Planning (Independent Charge)Urban Development

Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation

Bandaru Dattatreya Labour & Employment (Independent Charge)
Rajiv Pratap Rudy Skill Development & Entrepreneurship (Independent Charge)
Vijay Goel Youth Affairs and Sports (Independent Charge)Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation
Shripad Yesso Naik AAYUSH (Independent Charge)
Dharmendra Pradhan Petroleum and Natural Gas (Independent Charge)
Piyush Goyal Power (Independent Charge)Coal (Independent Charge)

New and Renewable Energy (Independent Charge)

Mines (Independent Charge)

Dr. Jitendra Singh Development of North Eastern Region (Independent Charge)Prime Minister’s Office

Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions

Department of Atomic Energy

Department of Space

Nirmala Sitharaman Commerce and Industry (Independent Charge)
Dr. Mahesh Sharma Culture (Independent Charge)Tourism (Independent Charge)
Manoj Sinha Communications (Independent Charge)Railways
Anil Madhav Dave Environment, Forest and Climate Change (Independent Charge)
Santosh Kumar Gangwar Finance
Faggan Singh Kulaste Health & Family Welfare
Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi Minority AffairsParliamentary Affairs
S. S. Ahluwalia Agriculture & Farmers WelfareParliamentary Affairs
Ramdas Athawale Social Justice & Empowerment
Ram Kripal Yadav Rural Development
Haribhai Parthibhai Chaudhary Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises
Giriraj Singh Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises
Hansraj Gangaram Ahir Home Affairs
G. M. Siddeshwara Heavy Industries & Public Enterprises
Ramesh Chandappa Jigajinagi Drinking Water & Sanitation
Rajen Gohain Railways
Parshottam Rupala Agriculture & Farmers WelfarePanchayati Raj
M. J. Akbar External Affairs
Upendra Kushwaha Human Resources Development
Radhakrishnan P Road Transport & HighwaysShipping
Kiren Rijiju Home Affairs
Krishan Pal Social Justice & Empowerment
Jasvantsinh Sumanbhai Bhabhor Tribal Affairs
Dr. Sanjeev Kumar Balyan Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation
Vishnu Deo Sai Steel
Sudarshan Bhagat Agriculture and Farmers Welfare
Y. S. Chowdary Science & TechnologyEarth Science
Jayant Sinha Civil Aviation
Col. Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore Information & Broadcasting
Babul Supriyo Urban DevelopmentHousing & Urban Poverty Alleviation
Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti Food Processing Industries
Vijay Sampla Social Justice & Empowerment
Arjun Ram Meghwal FinanceCorporate Affairs
Dr. Mahendra Nath Pandey Human Resource Development
Ajay Tamta Textiles
Krishna Raj Women & Child Development
Mansukh L. Mandaviya Road Transport & Highways, Shipping,

Chemicals & Fertilizers

Anupriya Patel Health & Family Welfare
C. R. Chaudhary Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution
P. P. Chaudhary Law & JusticeElectronics & Information Technology
Dr. Subhash Ramrao Bhamre Defence




Important points to look upon:



The decision was taken by PM Modi after a two-month long assessment process.


The two-month long assessment given importance to performance, delivery, and ability of ministers to work as a team without creating controversies for the government.


PM took final calls after the evaluation done by his trusted aides in Government and Party.


PM was satisfied with the work of infrastructure ministries of road transport, power and coal.


PM Modi will reward ministers with a Cabinet berth or newer roles, who delivered results in the last two 2 years.




Download Here !! Daily, Weekly and Monthly Current Affairs !!



Like our Facebook[ page, and get interesting daily quiz that will boost your concentration level. Also comment your views there.


If you are preparing for competitive exams like SSC, IBPS etc., then you must follow us on YouTube as there you will find many useful videos making you aware about the tips & tricks for the exams.



All the very best 



Share This Post

Expert advise guide for exam preparation
Like the Post? Subscribe to Eduncle Blog

Even if you don't visit on a regular basis, you can get the latest posts and updates delivered to you for free via Email.

8    +   2   =  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

8   +   2   = 

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>