GK Edu Wrap – 18th March 2015


1. BJP MLA Kavinder Gupta elected as Speaker of 12th Legislative Assembly of Jammu and Kashmir.

2. Union Cabinet approved the Undisclosed Foreign Income and Assets (Imposition of Tax) Bill, 2015.

3. Union Environment Ministry revoked suspension of Goa mines.

4. India’s exports grew marginally by 0.88% to $286.58 billion during the April-February period of the current fiscal.

5. Confederation of Indian Industry sign agreement with Hitachi, Siemens for smart city initiative.

6. The British Irish Visa Scheme came into force in India. The information related to this was revealed by Minister of State for External Affairs, V. K. Singh while answering the unstarred questions in Rajya Sabha.


1. Benjamin Netanyahu is the new Prime Minister of Israel. He sworn in as PM for the 3rd consecutive times.


1. Lewis Hamilton of Britain won Australian Grand Prix of Formula One. This was the first Australian Grand Prix win for Lewis Hamilton since 2008 and overall it was his 34th Grand Prix.

2. Union Ministry of Development of North Eastern Region (DoNER) on 14 March 2015 announced to appoint Olympic Bronze medallist boxer MC Mary Kom as the brand ambassador of the North-East region.


1. India’s exports grew marginally by 0.88% to $286.58 billion during the April-February period of the current fiscal.

2. IndiGo set to launch Rs 2,500 crore IPO.

3. India’s third largest software exporter Wipro has picked up a minority stake in US-based cloud solutions startup Drivestream Inc for $5 million — its first venture investment in a startup after it launched a $100-million corporate venture last year.


1. Ashu Suyash appointed as Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of CRISIL (Credit Rating Information Services of India Limited).


1. Prime Minister Narendra Modi is CNN-IBN’s Indian of the Year 2014 and the ISRO team won the Lifetime Achievement Award. Wipro Chairman Azim Premji and Nobel laureate Kailash Satyarthi won the Indian of the Year for outstanding achievement.

Here is the complete list of winners:
CNN-IBN Indian of the Year: Narendra Modi
Lifetime Achievement Award: ISRO team
Outstanding Achievement Award: Azim Premji, Kailash Satyarthi
Special Achievement Award: Kangana Ranaut
Popular Choice Award: K Chandrasekhar Rao, P Vijayan
Sports: Jitu Rai
Business: N Chandrasekaran
Entertainment: Chetan Bhagat
Public Service: Tongam Rina
Politics: Arun Jaitley
Global Indian: Satya Nadella

Share This Post

Expert advise guide for exam preparation
Like the Post? Subscribe to Eduncle Blog

Even if you don't visit eduncle.com on a regular basis, you can get the latest posts and updates delivered to you for free via Email.

8    +   5   =