ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 at glance

ICCWinner: Australia
Runners-up: New Zealand
Man of the Series: Mitchell Starc of Australia for his 22 wickets which he took in 8 matches he played.

Australian cricket team captain: Michael Clarke
New Zealand cricket team captain: Brendon McCullum

Australia on 29th March 2015 won the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015. In the final, Australia defeated New Zealand by 7 wickets at Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Australia. New Zealand batting first was bowled out at a score of 183 in 45 over and in reply to the target Australia scored 186 at the loss of 3 wickets in 33.1 over. With this, Australia won the prize money of 3975000 US dollars while New Zealand as Runners-up won 1750000 US dollars as prize money. James Faulkner (Australia) was named “Man of the Match”.

This was the second time when the Cricket World Cup was held in Australia and New Zealand, with the first being the 1992 Cricket World Cup. Sachin Tendulkar was named as the 2015 Cricket World Cup Ambassador by the ICC for the second time, after 2011 Cricket World Cup where he was the ambassador.

Full form of ICC: International Cricket Council
Motto: Great Sport Great Spirit
Formation: 15 June 1909
Headquarters: Dubai, United Arab Emirates
ICC President: Mustafa Kamal (Bangladesh)
ICC CEO: David Richardson (South Africa)
ICC Chairman: N. Srinivasan (India)

Some stats about ICC Cricket World Cup 2015:

Cricket World Cup Winners:
Australia: 5 times (Most by any team in the world) – 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015
West Indies: 2 times – 1975, 1979
India: 2 times – 1983, 2011
Pakistan: 1 time – 1992
Sri Lanka: 1 time – 1996

Highest run Scorer in the tournament: Martin Guptill of New Zealand – 547 runs
Highest individual score in the tournament: Martin Guptill of New Zealand – 237* against West Indies in quarter final.
Best batting strike rate in the tournament: Brendon McCullum of New Zealand – 188.50
Best batting average in the tournament: Kumar Sangakkara of Sri Lanka – 108.20
Most individual centuries in the tournament:  Kumar Sangakkara of Sri Lanka – 4 centuries
Most individual fifties in the tournament: Steve Smith of Australia – 4 fifties
Most sixes in the tournament by a player: Chris Gayle of West Indies – 26 sixes
Most fours in the tournament by a player: Martin Guptill – 59 fours

Highest wicket taker in the tournament: Mitchell Starc of Australia – 22 wickets
Best bowling figures in the tournament: Tim Southee of New Zealand – 33 for 7
Best Economy: Michael Clarke – 2.80
Best Bowling Average in the tournament: Mitchell Starc of Australia – 10.18
Most maiden bowled by a player in the tournament: Trent Boult – 14 maidens

Highest wicket taker in the tournament for India: Umesh Yadav – 18 wickets in 8 matches
Highest run scorer in the tournament for India: Shikhar Dhawan – 412 runs in 8 matches

Some more facts about ICC Cricket World Cup 2015:

a) Official theme of ICC Cricket World Cup 2015: “Greatness is Contagious

b) The 2015 World Cup of Cricket was held between 14 February and 29 March 2015 at 14 venues in Australia and New Zealand. 14 teams participated in the league matches of the tournament.

c) These teams were: Sri Lanka, South Africa, Bangladesh, India, Australia, Pakistan, New Zealand, West Indies, England, United Arab Emirates (UAE), Afghanistan, Scotland, Ireland and Zimbabwe.

d) Quarter-finals

• QF 1: South Africa beat Sri Lanka
• QF 2: India beat Bangladesh
• QF 3: New Zealand beat West Indies
• QF 4: Australia beat Pakistan

• SF 1: New Zealand beat South Africa
• SF 2: Australia beat India

e) This World Cup also saw scoring of two double hundreds, firstly by Chris Gayle of West Indies who scored 215 runs against Zimbabwe in the league matches and secondly by Martin Guptill.

f) This World Cup also saw the retirement of following cricketers from the One Day Internationals. These are: Michael Clarke and Brad Haddin (Australia), Daniel Vettori (New Zealand), Shahid Afridi and Misbah-ul-Haq (Pakistan), Mahela Jayawadene and Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka), Khurram Khan (UAE) and Brendon Taylor (Zimbabwe).

g) This World Cup also saw the scoring of highest ever centuries in any World Cup. In all 37 centuries were scored in the 2015 Cricket World Cup with Kumar Sangakkara scoring the maximum number of 4 centuries.

h) Australia (417 – 6) broke India’s highest run record (413-5) against Afghanistan in ICC World Cup 2015.

i) Australia defeated Afghanistan by 275 runs which is the biggest winning margin in World Cup history.

j) Kumar Sangakkara becomes the first player in the history of Cricket World Cup to score 4 consecutive 100. He became 2nd cricketer in world to cross 14,000 ODI runs, after Sachin Tendulkar.

k) Mahendra Singh Dhoni becomes the ‘First Indian Captain’ to register 100 ODI wins.

l) Martin Guptill scored unbeaten 237 runs from 163 balls against West Indies, which the highest individual score in Cricket World Cup history. The previous highest was Chris Gayle’s 215 runs against Zimbabwe in this tournamentt.

m) AB de Villiers of South Africa smashed fastest 150 in one-day international history. He beats Shane Watson’s record (83 balls against Bangladesh in 2011). AB de Villiers now has the fastest fifty (16), hundred (31) and 150 (64) in ODI history.

Share This Post

Expert advise guide for exam preparation
Like the Post? Subscribe to Eduncle Blog

Even if you don't visit eduncle.com on a regular basis, you can get the latest posts and updates delivered to you for free via Email.

9    +   4   =