Radhakrishnan retires as ISRO chief, Shailesh Nayak in charge

Shailesh NayakIn a surprise move, the government has appointed Shailesh Nayak, secretary in the ministry of earth sciences, as the ad-hoc chairman of Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO).

Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) Chairman K. Radhakrishnan retired on Wednesday. Shailesh Nayak, who is Secretary, Union Earth Sciences Ministry, will hold additional and interim charge as Chairman for a month or until a regular chief is named, said an order by the Secretary, Appointments’ Committee of the Union Cabinet.

Dr. Radhakrishnan led ISRO in many achievements over the past five years after he took over the reins in November 2009. The historic Mars Orbiter Mission was launched and guided to an orbit around the red planet under his leadership.

The partial experimental sub-orbital flight of the GSLV Mark-III heavy-lift launch vehicle was another success. The early part of his chairmanship was marred by the Antrix-Devas S-band satellite controversy and the cancellation of that deal in February 2011.

Share This Post

Expert advise guide for exam preparation
Like the Post? Subscribe to Eduncle Blog

Even if you don't visit eduncle.com on a regular basis, you can get the latest posts and updates delivered to you for free via Email.

8    +   4   =